Peanut Butter Cookies

June 18, 2008

       

 Peanut Butter Cookies 

 

 

Posted by: Y

One of the best perks about my job is Summer Fridays- I get half of the Fridays in summer off. So this past Friday, I took the day off and slept in until noon (to my defense, I had worked until 10 the night before and went to bed really late)! And when I woke up, I felt like eating cookies; specifically, peanut butter cookies! As luck would have it, I had all the ingredients to make a scrumptious peanut butter cookie. I adapted a recipe from Simply Recipes, because I didn’t have any baking powder on hand. This is the recipe I created, based on Peanut Butter Cookies on Simply Recipes:

Ingredients:

3/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 large egg

1/4 tsp salt

Instructions (I did this all with a whisk and rubber spatula; probably could’ve done all the mixing with a big spoon!):

1. Cream the butter for 2 minutes. Add the sugars, cream for 2 more minutes. Mix in the peanut butter and egg. Mix together the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda and salt. Stir into the sugar butter mixture.

2. Wrap dough in plastic and refrigerate at least 1 hour.

3. Preheat oven to 300°F. Shape dough into 1 1/4 inch balls. Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten in crisscross pattern with a fork. Bake until light brown, 13-15 minutes. Cool on baking sheets for a minute; transfer to rack to cool completely. Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

Delicious! They were gone by the next morning. I always like to adjust recipes to fit my taste (or the contents of my pantry). Don’t be afraid to experiment, but when baking, make sure your proportions are still similar to tried and true recipes.  Mmm just writing about these cookies makes me wanna go home and make them again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Peanut Butter Cookies”


  1. i just discovered ur blog!!!

    I found it fun, and true.. im a 20 something too!! trying to survive and do some good food!!!

  2. g Says:

    i wonder where the cookies went

  3. thelittlethingsmatter Says:

    so my friend and i just made these and we approve! its dense And sorta fluffy at the same time.. its a delicious paradox that goes really well with a cold glass of milk! i burned my arm with the hot cookie tray :(

  4. thelittlethingsmatter Says:

    oh and mine look absolutely nothing like the cookies in the picture


Leave a Reply

