Tabbouleh Salad

June 22, 2008

Posted by: B

As I mentioned before, I’m fairly health-conscious in my cooking and used to shop at speciality stores such as Wegmans or Whole Foods quite often. Unfortunately, budget restraints and my conscious efforts to reduce our grocery bill have left me shopping at our local big chain supermarket. But as the economy suffers and food prices are steadily rising, I find myself in good company. Nowadays, less and less people can pay for the gourmet products, and also find themselves turning to their local supermarkets for answers. In the past few months, I’ve found that many big supermarket chains (once known for their supersize bags of Lays Potato Chips) are also now stocking their shelves with whole wheat pastry flour or increasing their line of organic products. Thus, it was no huge surprise to me when I was able to find Bulgar wheat in the international section of our local Foodtown. The amazing thing about bulgar wheat is that it has nearly twice the nutritional value of brown rice! When I heard of this amazing grain, I couldn’t wait to try it! Traditionally, bulgar wheat is of Middle Eastern origins, and served with lemon, tomatoes, mint, and parsley. Here is my own spin on the traditional Tabbouleh Salad. 

Ingredients: 

1 cup bulgar wheat

salt/pepper

1 1/2 cups boiling water

juice of one lemon

1/2 cup of olive oil

handful of cilantro (finely chopped -> can substitute w/ parsley)

1/2 cup of halved grapes

handful of toasted walnuts

3oz of feta cheese (crumbled)

handful of craisins 

1 whole english cucumber (chopped)

1 cup of cooked chicken (cubed)

1 cup of halved cherry tomatoes (any small tomato will do)

handful of mint (finely chopped)

 

Directions:

In a medium bowl, combine the bulgar wheat with a pinch of salt, and the boiling water. Cover with saran wrap, and let stand for 30 minutes. If desired, can substitute boiling water with boiling chicken stock (I may do this for more flavor next time). 

In a separate large bowl, whisk together the lemon juice, olive oil, salt & pepper. Add cilantro, grapes, walnuts, feta cheese, cucumber, tomatoes, mint, chicken, and crasins. Stir in the bulgar wheat. Can serve immediately or after refrigeration. 

 

Here’s a picture of my Tabbouleh Salad. I think this would be a delicious lunch! 

 

Leave a Reply

