Confetti Cupcakes!

July 11, 2008

Posted by: Y

These past couple weeks have been pretty crazy for me. I moved into a new apartment with two new roomies, and had alot of unpacking and shopping to do! I’m afraid I’ve had to eat out every night for the past few weeks but I am getting back on track- I made dinner (kimchi fried rice) for me and my roommate A tonight.

Before all the moving craziness began, I made cupcakes for G’s birthday dinner. I thought about making a cake, but I thought cupcakes would be easier to transport/share at a restaurant. This was my first time making cupcakes from scratch, and it turned out fantastic! I got the recipe for the cupcakes from Baking Bites and got the recipe for the frosting from rachaelraymag.com: 

Confetti Cupcakes


1/2 cup milk

3 large egg whites

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

6 tbsp butter, soft

2 tbsp rainbow sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350F.
Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.
In a measuring cup, whisk together milk, egg whites and extracts. Set aside
In the bowl of an electric mixer (or a large bowl if you prefer to work by hand), combine flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Stir to combine. Cut in butter with the paddle attachment at low speed (or cut in by hand), until mixture is coarse and sandy. Add milk mixture and beat at medium speed for 1 1/2 minutes. Scrape sides of bowl and continue beating for 20-30 seconds. Stir in sprinkles.
Divide batter evenly into prepared tin. Bake for for 15 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.
Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack before frosting. 
Makes 12.

Marshmallow Frosting

2 sticks (1/2 pound) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (optional)
One 7.5-ounce tub marshmallow cream (such as Marshmallow Fluff brand)

1. In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter until creamy.

2. Beat in one-fourth of the sugar until fluffy, then repeat with the remaining sugar.

3. Beat in the vanilla, then stir in the marshmallow cream until well blended. 

These cupcakes were sooooooooo good. The sprinkles in the cupcakes make them so festive and fun to eat! I didn’t use Baking Bites’ recipe for marshmallow icing because I was feeling lazy and it was more complicated than this simple recipe from Rachael Ray (I bet that icing is delicious though)!  I actually halved the icing recipe from Rachael Ray to create the recipe above (because the original recipe was for 24 cupcakes, and I only baked 12). Even then I had alot of it left – so I think I would make the same amount of icing even if I were making 24 cupcakes. All in all, a great first experience in baking cupcakes- unlike the experience G’s brother W had after he tried to recreate the cupcakes for a July 4 dinner without me around to guide. Let’s just say there was burnt batter on the bottom of the oven afterwards and he got to the party late with store-bought cake and wine…

3 Responses to “Confetti Cupcakes!”

  1. thelittlethingsmatter Says:

    those cupcakes look awesome! do you have a mixer? a kitchen aid stand mixer perhaps with detachable whisk? i dont think i would ever want to whip up a batch of delicious butter frosting by hand. i’d rather be thrown to the hyenas. i like your use of A’s for people’s N’s.
    -K

  2. diningoncents Says:

    Actually I don’t have a mixer (I wish I had a stand mixer, I would probably bake alot more often)! I did that all by hand- and it wasn’t too difficult. I might buy a hand mixer soon but for the time being I am sticking to recipes that let me do everything by hand. ~Y

  3. asgreen Says:

    Wow. Just looking at thos cupcakes makes me hungry. They look fantastic!


Leave a Reply

